Maps And All Their Wonders

beautiful-world-maps-by-rayworld-L-H8ekbR

Mouth watering… heart skipping a beat… eyes as big as basketballs… you’d think I’d seen the most beautiful girl to ever grace the Earth (or a nice steak). But nope! It’s neither of these. This is a description of me when I lay my eyes on a map. What kind of map, you may ask? Well any kind! Big, small, colorful, black and white, old, new, and every other adjective you could think about.

A map is pretty much a visual bucket list. It’s everywhere I want to go, every where I’ve been, and every where I plan to go. I could stare at a map for hours and just imagine all the amazing things I could do in each location.

Maps are the perfect gift for any traveler. A few years back, my parents got me two custom maps, made my National Geographic, where I can pin all the places I’ve been. One map is of the world and the other is of the USA. It’s been awesome watching the map fill up as all the placed I’ve been add up. Just last year, my parents also got me a very nice globe, and just like the maps, I could sit there for hours.

But, one of my favorite things about maps, is that none of them are exactly the same! Of course the land masses and bodies of water are, but how they’re made, what they look like, what they depict, all differ! Somebody wrote this post named “40 Maps That Will Help You Make Sense of the World” and I absolutely love it. This is exactly what I mean by the different content. This one is by far my favorite

"Area Codes In Which Ludacris Claims to Have H*es"

“Area Codes In Which Ludacris Claims to Have H*es”

For those of you who don’t know, this is a song reference. Check it out!

I’m also a fan of maps that show light pollution, those are incredible!

europe_nightm

This one used to be the background on my phone.

And this one used to be my background on my laptop

World-Map-Wallpapers-5

I’m also obsessed with airline route maps

routes

 

What’re your favorite maps?? You should write a post and tag me in it!

4 thoughts on “Maps And All Their Wonders

  1. Hi Alex,

    I am a lover of maps myself. This is a great post showing all of the different maps. When I am older and have my own place I would also like to have a map on my wall where I can pin the places I have been to. Happy travels!

    Annie.

    Like

    • When I was in the Boy Scouts, orienteering was something I specialized in! For some reason I wasn’t a fan of the actual activity, but I was good at it!

      Those pieces are amazing!

      Thanks for commenting! Cheers

      Like

Leave a Reply

