Thanks To Be Given

turkey

 

 

Thanksgiving is among us again! For those of you not from the USA, Thanksgiving hails from the tradition of feasting from a good harvest. It began back in 1621, and is carried on to this day. Now-a-days we use this festivity to gather with family and friends and share thanks for what we’ve had or done in our lives. Here’s just a few things I am thankful for.

My Education 

You don’t truly value your education until you meet someone who hasn’t been as fortunate as you. People I’ve worked with, people I’ve encountered while traveling, some of them haven’t even had the equivalent of my High School education. Now, here I am, attending a four year university and most likely going to graduate school.

Travel Websites

Thank you to StumbleUpon , Kayak, and WordPress for keeping my Wanderlust-ness going. The days I’m in a slump, or bored out of my mind, these are the first websites I go to. They’re typically the sources of my new ideas of trips.

My Family 

What would I do without them? Mom and Dad push me every day to be the best “Alexander W. Clegg” I can be. Maxwell being my brother, allowing me to beat him up, yet him unconditionally love me. Bro, for broadening my knowledge with every conversation we have, bringing to light things I had never even considered. Grandma and Grandpa for giving me more love then anyone can imagine. All these people have shaped the man you see (read) today, in each and every different ways. I couldn’t be more thankful.

My Experiences and Opportunities

I have had more experiences then most people have in their entire life. I’ve played sports, I’ve played instruments, I’m an Eagle Scout, I’ve travelled the world. The list goes on and on! Now, I find myself in college, with experiences and opportunities laying in front of me for the taking. I’ve been fortunate to be born into a good situation, with loving family and friends, and unlimited opportunities ahead of me. I’m thankful for everything that has happened to me to this day, the good and the bad. Otherwise I wouldn’t be who I am.

 

There are many more things to be thankful for. I couldn’t possibly list everything. This Thanksgiving, forget about the wants and the needs. Sit back and rejoice about what you have and who you have it with. That’s what matters.

 

Happy Eating!

 

One thought on “Thanks To Be Given

Leave a Reply

