TEFL Course: Check!

I knew I wanted to earn my TEFL Certificate at some point, and I figured it would be during the second semester of my senior year (in two years). But! When I stumbled upon this groupon giving my 91% off of a course, I figured ‘what the heck, I’ll take it now!’ Of course, I checked before taking it that the certificate doesn’t expire, and so there I was, a proud owner of an online TEFL course.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 10.52.54 PM

The course gave my 70 days to finish 160 hours of work, and 40 days later, here I am! Done! That’s right, I – Alexander William Clegg – have finished his TEFL Certification.

Screen Shot 2014-12-05 at 10.56.16 PM

 

The whole thing looks fancier than this, but I had to crop it to fit.

I must say, you don’t really realize how little you know about the English language until you study and learn it like this. Just like any other languages, we have tenses like past-participle, present continuous, etc. I had no idea these even existed, I just “knew” how to use them. I guess that sounds a little ignorant of me, so in a way, this course hasn’t just only taught me how to be a teacher, but also how to look at studying the English language from the other side.

If you’re thinking about taking your TEFL Course, I most certainly suggest TEFL Express. It’s fun, entertaining, challenging, and best of yet, it teaches you how to teach! You really do come out of it feeling prepared.

Now what’re my next steps? Well… I’ve still got at least 2 1/2 more years of university so I’ll be here doing that. Fortunate enough, across the street from my school is an ESL Language Center and they’ve been kind enough to let me sit in on some of their classes and learn from their teachers. Like I said, the online course is fantastic, but, that being said, there’s nothing like sitting in a classroom and watching an experienced teacher teach, I can already tell I’m going to learn a lot.

So that’s where I am, and that’s where I’m going!

Are any of you all taking a course? If so, with whom and how do you like it?

5 thoughts on “TEFL Course: Check!

  1. Hey there, I’m an ESL teacher in Korea right now. I teach at an all boys high school – lots of fun. Start applying your TESL skills now! More importantly, start learning the language of the students you want to teach. Will help you tremendously as it has helped me. Here is something that will help you as well: http://goo.gl/m3Vbpp

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t have a TEFL certificate, since my undergrad minor was in Teaching English to Second Language Learners, but sometimes I consider taking the course as a brush up of my ESL skills. Like you have mentioned, practice makes perfect, and it sounds like you are taking all the right steps! If you know which region you want to move to in order to teach (SE Asia, right?) then you should learn some of that language, too! There are lots of podcasts and apps to help you hear some of the correct pronounciation, and now that you know all of the pedagogy, you can use it on yourself! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

