How I Spent My Last Few Days in Sint Maarten

Sorry for not posting last night! As one great mind once told me, if you’re not passionate about it, don’t write it, and last night, I was not feeling it! I was tired and did not feel like writing. This post will cover both yesterday and todays events.

As I alluded to in my last two posts (here and here), snuba-ing was top on our list of things to do. To recall, snuba is a mixture of snorkeling and scuba diving. Essentially, you have a 20ft long hose up to the surface, allowing you to go lower than normal snorkeling, but not worry about the tank on your back and such.

We went through Blue Bubbles and they were awesome. The nice Belgian lady who worked there was nice and very helpful. I’m going to leave a full review later on Trip Advisor and I’ll be sure to share it with you all.

While snuba-ing, I used my GoPro  and caught some freakin’ awesome videos. Here’re just a few of my favorite screen shots.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 8.51.56 PM Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 8.58.16 PM Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 9.00.58 PM

After snuba, we decided to retire to our hotel, and I was keen for a quick nap. Well that quick nap turned into an hour and a half. Whoops… Well I woke up in time for dinner, I ate, and then it was time for bed. Traveling is exhausting!

Prior to today, my family decided to expand our horizons a bit and we each travelled to another location, my mother and I going to Anguilla, and my brother and dad going to Saba, most famously known for their ridiculously short run way.

Mom and I found a charter ferry service, Calypso, that would take us to and from Sint Maarten to Anguilla. When I wrap up this entire trip in my next post, I’ll go into more detail on “Caribbean Time”, but I’m sure you all can figure out what this term refers to. Well Calypso was most certainly on caribbean time. But hey, no worries right? We got where we needed to go and thats what matters.  It cost us roughly $90 per/person and the boat was high speed, taking about 20 minutes. There are definitely cheaper ways (I read about one that was only $20) but this boat left from really close to our hotel, and they even gave us complimentary beverages, including Heineken and Rum Punch!

IMG_6246 IMG_6247

If you plan on traveling to Anguilla, be sure you budget for a rental car because otherwise, it’s virtually impossible to get around. Yes there are cabs, but when it only cost us $65 for a rental car for the whole day, why be restricted to a cab driver? That being said, the rental car place wasn’t 100% legit. You want to know how I could tell? Well.. look where we rented it from.

IMG_6266Anguilla is known to have some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, so we decided to check it out.

IMG_6261

They were right! We spent most of our day here.

When it was time to head home, we returned to the dock, returned the car, and were on our way. The ride back was awesome. The views, the drinks, the roll of the ocean, all of it! I even made a new friend and took a badass picture.

IMG_6269 IMG_6281Check out the views though…

IMG_6273 IMG_6275

Pretty sweet right?? Tonight, at dinner, we’ll discuss what the plans are for tomorrow before our flight at 3:00 pm. This trip has been way to short but we made the most of it. I can’t wait to get home and start working on saving money and planning the next trip.

One thought on “How I Spent My Last Few Days in Sint Maarten

Leave a Reply

