12 Trips in 12 Months: The U.S. Botanic Garden

As you recall, I wrote a post awhile ago making a pact to take one trip a month for the entirety of 2015 (found here). In the post, I mentioned that of these twelve trips, none of them have to be international, or even out of state. It could be anywhere, including in your own town to that one spot you’ve been dying to check out.

Well this weekend I kicked off the series with a day trip to Washington D.C., specifically the US Botanical Gardens. Who would go to a garden in the height of winter?? Well, luckily for us, the national botanical garden is mostly indoors, in a large greenhouse-like facility. A quick word of advice, if you plan on making this trip, park your car on the outskirts of the district, in a surrounding suburb. The parking will be cheaper (or even free (contact me because I got the hook up šŸ˜‰ )). It’s about an eight minute walk from the nearest metro stop.

When we got there, we were immediately consumed with our electronic devices. Ooohhh us millennials. We wanted to document the experience as best as possible, I guess. Side note: I read a post a few weeks ago (I apologize I don’t remember who from) but it was discussing how we, too often, spend too much time trying to document the experience, rather then living it in the moment and experiencing now. It was quite interesting!

Never the less, we captured some cool photos. All of these I took myself!

botanic1 botanic2 botanic3 botanic4Although photocreds go to myself, camera creds go to girlfriend, Maggie! She also has a blog, full of great photos. Check it out here!

After we were done exploring the garden, we migrated to Georgetown on the other side of the district. There’s nothing like strolling down M Street, gazing into all the nifty shops and boutiques, all of which line the Potomac River waterfront. I didn’t snag a picture though, my apologies.

But! The action didn’t stop there. Today, an old mate of my from Boy Scouts ventured down Route 1 in Fredericksburg and made our way The Range, an indoor shooting range where we fired off almost 500 rounds of ammunition. While shooting, we decided to mess around with the Slow-Mo setting on our iPhones and caught some pretty cool shots.

IMG_6532 Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 4.57.33 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 5.00.18 PM

I didn’t have nearly as good of a shot as he did, but I wasn’t too shabby.

Now it’s time to wind down and watch some playoff football.Ā Do you all like to shoot? If so, comment below and let me know your thoughts!

7 thoughts on “12 Trips in 12 Months: The U.S. Botanic Garden

  1. I feel like God is blocking me getting my hands on a gun. Every time I have attempted to go to a shooting range, some extraneous unexpected circumstance always prevents me from following through. I’ve never shot a gun in my life. Sounds like a fun day you had. Enjoying lots of exciting football today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really like the idea of a trip for every month, no matter how small! I’m going to try and do this too – make me feel like I’m having adventures even when I can’t afford to be travelling anywhere exotic! haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

