Quick Tour of Qatar

image1

As time ticks down, my departure for Qatar draws closer and closer.6:05 pm, you’ll find me taking off from Washington Dulles International Airport, en route to Frankfurt, and later onto Doha. I’ve done my research, I’ve gathered prices, and I’ve made reservations. I’ve left myself a few days for exploration, but for the most part, I know what I’m doing, and this post is to share with you those plans!

Souq Waqif

souqwaqif

The Souq Waqif, or “standing market”, is world renowned for it’s fabulous shopping. Goods range from handmade cultural textiles all the way up to high end retailer stores including Coach, Louis Vuitton, and many others. Many say this is one of the best places to visit for real cultural immersion, something I am most certainly interested in. I’m not going to lie, I’ve always wanted an Arabian scarf, but I’ve wanted to wait until I had actually visited an Arab country. It’s definitely high up on my wish list.

Kayaking the Mangroves

mangroves

Unbeknownst to me, Qatar apparently has mangroves!  My friend Noah, who I’ll be traveling with, suggested we take an expedition out to the mangroves of Qatar and explore via kayak. Obviously, I jumped on the opportunity faster then a prairie fire with a tail wind. I don’t know what to expect from this, but I plan on relaying the entire experience back to you all.

Overnight Desert Safari

sanddunes

When we first decided to venture to Qatar, the thing that popped up in my mind the quickest was “Desert”. I’ve always wanted to visit one, and now I’ve finally got the opportunity! I did my research and came to the conclusion that an overnight desert safari was in order. The plan is to go sand duning in 4×4’s, led by for hire guides. They’ll take us out to a camp where they’ll have dinner, drinks, and shisha. This is where we’ll stay the night. In the morning we’ll have opportunities to go sand boarding and ride camels. My heart is racing just telling you all about this.

For those of you who are curious, this is the organization we’ll be going through; Qatar Inbound Tours

Weekend Trip to Dubai

flydubaiWhy not? We’re so close! The flight is about an hour and fifteen minutes from Doha, and only runs about $150 round trip. Dubai is the Las Vegas of the Middle East, and we plan on having a good time. While there, I can’t exactly tell you what the plan is, only because I don’t know. If you have any suggestions, let me know! I’d love for some ideas.

Al Jazeera

aljazeera

Noah’s Mom works for Al Jazeera and hopefully I’ll be able to snag a tour of their facilities! I don’t follow their news site very much, but I am aware of their status and would love to know about their operations. It’s like taking a personalized tour of CNN headquarters or BBC, a once in a lifetime opportunity.

9 thoughts on “Quick Tour of Qatar

  1. I just went to Dubai and it was awesome. The souqs there are really great too! I suggest going to the Old Bur Souq and from there you can take a ferry across the canal to the Spice Souq and Gold Souq. There you can really get some haggling time in! Also – if you’re in Dubai you must go to the Burj Khalifa, but you have to get your tickets online if you actually want to get in – you can’t just walk up and go. We went at 530 so we got up when it was light and stayed until it was dark then you can go outside the mall and see the fountain show.
    We went on a desert safari in Dubai and while it was fun, it was really just a bunch of tourists and wasn’t as authentic as I had hoped for. I had visited a Bedouin village in Israel when I was there in 2011 and that was an amazing experience so I had high hopes for the one in Dubai but was kinda let down! The 4x4ing is SO fun though, so that almost made it worth it!

    Have fun! Can’t wait to read all about it!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I feel like it’ll be way better in Doha! That isn’t as much of a touristy place as Dubai is so you will likely have an amazing time! And I would say do visit Israel, there are plenty of safe places to be in, the country is amazing! I went with Birthright and they took us on our desert safari so I am not exactly sure where we went but it wasn’t with a tour company. We slept overnight in the tents and everything – super cool experience! One of my favorite things we did there!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed on the desert safari. You need to go to a Saharan country to really experience it to the full. We went in Morocco and it was incredible. But it’s still a lot of fun. You can also take quad bikes in the desert and go sand boarding in the same place

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoy your trip! I am living out in Doha at the moment and I would definitely recommend you head to the museum of Islamic art on your trip (make this your number one) and take time to walk over to the cafe where you get the best view of the city skyline. It is an incredible building and one of my favourite museums in the world and trust me I’ve seen plenty! There isn’t a lot to do in Doha but it’s more chilled out than Dubai. The souq is nice but make sure you go later in the evening when it’s busy and you can do some people watching. Otherwise it’s too quiet plus it’s getting hot here so bear that in mind! Check out my blog for a few other ideas around town. Esp the walk along the corniche and dhow boat tours. You can do a lot in just a day here and see the main sights in 2 days. Katara is also a great place to visit and the pearl is cool to have a look around (and both are quite close together) How long do you have in Doha?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

