12 Trips in 12 Months: Cherry Blossom Festival

Finally, spring has arrived! The grass is getting greener, the birds are chirping louder, and the Cherry Blossoms are blooming. What a beautiful time to be alive. Luckily, I live so close to the District of Columbia that I had the opportunity to go see the Cherry Blossom this year. You would think that since I live less then a five minute bike ride from Washington D.C. that I would have been there before, but nope! It was a fun time, and I got to experience it with some amazing friends.

IMG_2064

Despite the obnoxious amount of people, we were able to have a good time. Two of the four of us were from out of state and were really experiencing it for the first time. Visiting the national mall made me feel quite patriotic, even though most of the tourists were Japanese.

IMG_2080

A quick history lesson: the 3,000 cherry blossom trees were gifted to us by the Japanese in celebration of an ever lasting friendship! You can read more about the history here.

IMG_2085

Maneuvering around D.C. was a feat in itself. Thousands upon thousands of people stuffed into the metro, trying to get a glimpse of the world famous flowers. Somehow, I’m not quite sure how, I managed to capture these images without the obstruction of others (although, a bit of cropping may or may not have been required).

IMG_2086

IMG_2095 IMG_2097 IMG_2102I’m glad we made the quick trip up. Being the manly man I am, I didn’t think I’d have as much fun as I did looking at flowers. It just goes to show how it’s very easy to over look the beauty you have in your backyard! I took the festival and the cherry blossoms for granted, but visiting the tidal basin in the eyes of a tourist really opened my eyes to what I’m fortunate enough to call my home!

2 thoughts on “12 Trips in 12 Months: Cherry Blossom Festival

Leave a Reply

