Packing Guide to Qatar

How does one pack for a country they’ve never been to? Furthermore, how does one pack for a country who’s climate they’ve never experienced before? Even furthermore, how does one pack for a country who’s social norms and laws are as different as Qatar’s and America’s?

To say I’m perplexed and confused is an understatement. ‘What do you mean no shorts? It’s 100+ degrees outside!’ There are so many things to take into account when packing for Qatar; the weather, the beach, the social norms, the affluent dining facilities that require adequate clothing, etc. I’ve attempted to pack, with the help of my travel partner, Noah, who’s been to Qatar a few times now. I’ll be there for 10 days, and here’s what I’ve got.

FullSizeRender

In My Pack

5 x T-Shirts (two of which are tank tops)

1 x Long Sleeve Shirt

2 x Button Down Shirts

1 x Button Down Short-Sleeved Shirt

1 x Bow Tie

1 x Normal Tie

2 x Pairs of pants (1 x khaki, 1 x jean)

1 x Pair of Khaki Shorts

1 x Pair of Athletic Shorts

7 x Pairs of Socks

5 x Pairs of Underwear

1 x Rain Jacket

3 x Shoes (dress, sneakers, and Vans)

** note: this is the most I’ve ever packed for a trip this short. I have no idea what to expect, so I’m preparing for it all!

FullSizeRender-1

In my Day Pack

1 x 13″ Macbook Pro w/ charger

1 x GoPro Hero 4 w/ charger, selfie pole, MicroSD card, and MicroSD card adapter

1 x Apple iPhone 6+ w/ charger

1 x Tumi International Travel Outlet Converter

1 x Book (In a Sunburned Country  by Bill Bryson)

1 x Guide Book (Lonely Planet)

1 x Coin Purse

1 x Passport

1 x Wallet

1 x Ray-Ban Sunglasses

1 x Bucket Hat

I think I’ve covered all the bases. I’m ready, and if I’ve forgotten anything, I’m sure I’ll be able to find it in Doha! If there’s anything you see that I’ve forgotten, let me know! I don’t want to be ill-prepared 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Packing Guide to Qatar

  1. Definitely bring a sweater and/or a hoodie. I know it sounds strange considering its almost 40 celsius outside as I speak but every mall and shop you go into blasts their air conditioning at around 20 degrees or less so you might get a little cold walking around indoors. re: the shorts, its fine to wear shorts, as long as they are knee length or close to. No one is really fussed. You might want to pack a pair of sandals and/or flip flops if you’re planning to head to the beach and make sure you bring some sun lotion (the strongest kind possible)!!

    One thing we didn’t pack and wish we did now was pepto-bismol, if you’re going to be out eating everywhere it’s worth having some if you get a stomach upset as its hard to find here as well.

    Have a great time, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Doha :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

