Learning the Tricks of the Trade: Qatar Edition

Before I departed for Qatar, my grandfather and I were talking about how this trip was going to be like none other that I have ever taken. Never before have I visited a country with such cultural differences then those I know from back home. I’m learning, I’m keeping on my toes, and I’m being ever so weary that I don’t step on other peoples. The last thing I want to do is invade on someones land and be obnoxious and intrusive. That being said, there are definitely some things I wish I could be doing!

For starters, I have no idea where I can and cannot take pictures. When we arrived to the Doha Airport, the pilot made an announcement over the intercom informing us that pictures were not allowed inside the airport. At first, this did not really register with me. Of course there are no pictures inside immigration…but they weren’t talking about immigration, they were talking about the entire airport!

Last night we visited the Souq Waqif, the main market in Doha buzzing with people enjoying a night out in town. Drinking some tea, smoking some shisha, and bartering like it’s their job. Noah and I indulged ourselves in some of this haggling; a thrill of its own! But like I said, I had no idea if I could take pictures here. I wanted to! It was beautiful. However, I did not want to make anyone uncomfortable, so I kept the camera in my bag. I did manage to snap a picture of where we ate dinner that night, though.IMG_2639

Today we woke up and hit the well needed gym. I must say, the food is exquisite, but I don’t think I’ve ever ingested so much rice in a 24 hour period in my entire life. We attempted to play tennis post workout, but the intense heat quickly deterred us away from that. We opted for a more luxurious, relaxing adventure: the pool. We had a pleasant time brainstorming all the cool shots we could get with the GoPro.

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.16.23 AM Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.17.22 AM Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.20.29 AM Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.21.34 AM

Thus far, the architecture and food of Qatar are my favorites. Like any Persian/Arabian architecture, the buildings are made of cement, highlighted by the usage of arches and castle-like roofs. This isn’t the best picture, but it gives you an example of what I mean.

FullSizeRender

As for the upcoming days, I see a visit to the desert and the Corniche in our future. Tomorrow, we plan on finalizing and squaring off our details for the desert safari, quad biking, and sand boarding! I also see a trip back to the Souq because this time I’ll have my own money to spend (my debit card wasn’t allowing me to withdraw money, but that’s another story).

Per usual, you know I’ll keep you up to date. If you have any tips or suggestions as to what we should be doing, comment below! The ideas would be greatly appreciated.

4 thoughts on “Learning the Tricks of the Trade: Qatar Edition

  1. Regarding photos, don’t take photos of local women but feel free to ask the guys if you can take a picture of them and I’m sure they wouldn’t mind at all. If you are going to messaeid for the quad biking ask the guys if you can get a bit of extra time and they are pretty cool and will let you have the bikes for a bit longer but if you want to go up the dunes and make the most of it then you need the more powerful ones. Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

