IAD-OHR Frontier Flight Review

Frontier Airlines has gained recent fame with their insanely low fares. Just today, I got an email with an advertisement for $19 one way tickets. Of course, they snag you with fees and service charges, something I’ll get into a little more later. Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 7.47.58 PM

I booked my ticket to Chicago back in May, and when I booked it, I paid for two checked bags ($25 each way). Of course, by the time my flight rolled around, I had forgotten that I had done this. When I arrived at the airport, I arrived before the desk opened, so I went with the self check-in. To put it simply, the self check-in was not very intuitive. Furthermore, it didn’t remind me/tell me I had purchased checked bags. Of course, this is equally my fault as it is their system, but it would have been nice if they reminded me. So that $130 flight I booked back in May, ended up being a $300 flight after fees, services, and bags.

Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 7.53.23 PM

In order to choose your seat, you also need to pay of $20 for economy or $35 for economy plus. I decided to indulge a little and go with the economy plus. Woah, wild right? Well trust me, it was worth it. That extra leg space and chair width is to die for.

In terms of the actual seat, it was a more comfortable than I had imagined. However, the budget airline has made cuts in two major areas. The seats are now unable to recline and are marketed as “pre-reclined” at the perfect angle. They’ve also significantly decreased the size of their tray tables, to the size of something similar to an iPad mini.

Their in-flight services are fairly skimp as well. The only free option was water, everything else (including sodas) are at a small fee.

Conclusion

Frontier is a great budget airline. This was my second trip with them, and I’m sure it wont be my last. Hidden fees are indeed a pain in the butt, but with the right knowledge, they are easy to reduce and/or avoid.

Leave a Reply

