Look Here! Tools to Help You Find The Cheapest Flight

Every travel blogger has made some sort of post on how they find the cheapest flights. The stereotypical answers may be “be flexible with your dates” or “be flexible with your destinations” yada yada yada. Yes, both of those are useful, but I’m going to show you the best tools, applications, and websites for finding the cheapest flights.

These are in no particular order of importance; solely the order in which they come to my mind!

Hitlist – The Google Chrome Application

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.09.34 AM

Okay, I lied, I did put this one first because it is definitely my new  favorite. If you use Google Chrome, I highly suggest adding this tool. Essentially, every time you open a new tab on your screen, a shot like this pops up showing amazing deals to random places. If you like it, you click “Flights” and it’ll take you to flight radar where you can see the dates and the website to purchase it from.

It’s quite easy to install; here’s how to do it.

  1. On your bookmarks bar, on the far left, click the “Apps” icon and then click on “WebStore”. This will take you to the Google Chrome App Store. Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.15.26 AM
  2. In the search bar, type in Hitlist. The first one that appears should be “Wandertab by Hitlist”. Click “+ Add to Chrome” and install the application. It’s that easy!Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.15.38 AM

Be careful… you may find yourself purchasing random tickets to places you hadn’t even thought of going!

Google Flights

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.21.37 AM

If you do have a destination in mind, my first suggestion is to head to Google Flights! They’ve got this neat feature that allows you to see a bar graph of what the cheapest flights are on what days. It’s a nice visual that’s easy to read and comprehend. If you do happen to be flexible with your dates, this is an awesome tool to use.

Their “Discover Destinations” page is also quite fascinating. If you’re more set on dates rather than destination, this tool will allow you to search how much tickets cost to a whole slew of destinations. If you wanted to filter by maximum price or by destination, that’s available as well.

Kayak

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.27.21 AM

When people come to me and say “Hey, I’m trying to go to Munich over Spring Break, can you see what prices you can find?”, the first place I visit is Kayak. If you know your destination and you know your dates, Kayak is the best resource because it scours through numerous different websites and finds the best prices available. I also like to use the +/-3 Days tool because it then produces a matrix that shows what the cheapest combination of dates are.

Flyer Talk Forums

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 10.31.28 AM This one’s a little more obscure: Flyer Talks Forum. Specifically, I head to the Milage Run sub-category where people are constantly posting deals to random locations. Most of them are 2-3 day trips because they’re “milage runs”, but that makes them perfect for cool weekend trips!

I’ve yet to use any of the deals mentioned in the forum, but I keep my eye out!

Those are the ones I use the most! Do you guys use another site/tool?? Comment below and let me know!

 

9 thoughts on “Look Here! Tools to Help You Find The Cheapest Flight

  1. Airfare Watchdog (airfarewatchdog.com) is a site I just recently became aware of, and it’s been helpful so far. You’ll like it, as it searches through all of the travel sites and tells you which flights, out of all of them, are the cheapest; they even deal with hotels. Thought you should know!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve heard of it but don’t have too much experience! I was thinking of you earlier today when I was taking a peak at Russian visas. It looks like it would cost me roughly $160… I’ve got to weigh the pros and cons.

      Like

Leave a Reply

